top of page
  • woodrowjoey

Weeks 9/10 - Wrapping up, overall lessons

Our final weeks consisted of final viscosity tube calibrations, FDA tests, and white oil testing, as usual. At this point, like I mentioned in previous posts, I have felt like a real, functioning member of the lab, and that experience to feel like a full-time, professional chemist is invaluable in the long run. This is an experience that will help me decide on my future and serve as a talking point in interviews.


From an overall standpoint, I feel like a much more mature chemist than I was three months ago. I genuinely believe this was a very valuable internship, as I was able to build my skillset while gaining real-world experience. Beyond my duties as a chemist, it was very cool to learn how the different branches of an industrial facility go hand-in-hand, the prioritization of safety in the workplace, and how your living routine changes when you work a full-time job.


Also, it's incredible how often I look around my house or go to the store and see products that have materials in them that I have tested myself. Petroleum products are everywhere, and I've become very good at spotting them now that I've worked in the industry! It is also interesting that I know what tests are performed on these products, and I understand everyday things, like my chap stick and toothpaste, on a chemical level.

Nadia and I on our last day, posted with DINO

On the last day of my internship, all of the interns gave presentations about our summer experience to a lot of the managers and "higher-ups" around the plant. As we were both chemistry interns, Nadia and I did ours together, and it was a great way to sum up and review all of things we learned over the course of the summer. The other interns all did a great job with their presentations, and it's clear that everybody learned a lot.


Now it's time to get ready for school to start up again! I'm looking forward to bringing my skills back with me and adding more value to the labs at Juniata. But first, it's time for vacation! See you all on campus in a few weeks.





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page